Page 3 of 10712345...102030...Last »

Law and Laughter –by: George A. (George Alexander) Morton

First Page:

LAW AND LAUGHTER

BY GEORGE A. MORTON AND D. MACLEOD MALLOCH

ILLUSTRATED WITH PORTRAITS OF EMINENT MEMBERS OF BENCH & BAR

T. N. FOULIS LONDON & EDINBURGH 1913

Published October 1913

Printed by BALLANTYNE, HANSON & CO. at the Ballantyne Press, Edinburgh

TO THE MEMORY OF D. MACLEOD MALLOCH

"As crafty lawyers to acquire applause Try various arts to get a double cause, So does an author, rummaging his brain, By various methods, try to entertain."

PASQUIN.

PREFACE

Th...

Curious Myths of the Middle Ages –by: S. Baring-Gould

This volume is an example of Sabine Baring-Gould's extensive research into the middle ages. This volume of 12 curiosities was one of Baring-Gould's most successful publications.

First Page:

Transcriber's Note

Illustration captions in {brackets} have been added by the transcriber for the convenience of the reader.

CURIOUS MYTHS OF THE MIDDLE AGES.

BY S. BARING GOULD, M.A.

BOSTON: ROBERTS BROTHERS. 1867.

STEREOTYPED AT ...

Twenty-Five Cent Dinners for Families of Six

First Page:

TWENTY FIVE CENT DINNERS

FOR

FAMILIES OF SIX.

BY

JULIET CORSON,

Superintendent of the New York Cooking School .

AUTHOR OF "THE COOKING MANUAL," "OUR HOUSEHOLD COUNCIL," "THE BILL OF FARE, WITH ACCOMPANYING RECEIPTS AND ESTIMATED COST," "A TEXT BOOK FOR COOKING SCHOOLS," "FIFTEEN CENT DINNERS FOR WORKINGMEN'S FAMILIES," ETC.

THIRTEENTH EDITION, REVISED AND ENLARGED.

NEW YORK: ORANGE JUDD COMPANY, 245 BROADWAY, 1879. Copyright by JULIET CORSON, 1878. All Rights Reserved.

PREFACE

TO

THE REVISED AND ENLARGED EDITION...

Auguste Comte and Positivism –by: John Stuart Mill

Part 1 lays out the framework for Positivism as originated in France by Auguste Comte in his Cours de Philosophie Positive. Mill examines the tenets of Comte's movement and alerts us to defects. Part 2 concerns all Comte's writings except the Cours de Philosophie Positive. During Comte's later years he gave up reading newspapers and periodicals to keep his mind pure for higher study. He also became enamored of a certain woman who changed his view of life. Comte turned his philosophy into a religion, with morality the supreme guide. Mill finds that Comte learned to despise science and the intel...

365 Foreign Dishes

Starters, main courses and desserts from around the world, one dish for every day of the year. From Turkey to China, from India to England, from Austria to Egypt, a wide variety of mouth-watering cuisines are represented. Each recipe is described in one short paragraph, making this book perfect for dipping into when you’re seeking inspiration on what to cook.

First Page:

365 FOREIGN DISHES

A Foreign Dish for every day in the year

1908

JANUARY.

1. Austrian Goulasch.

Boil 2 calves' heads in salted water until tender; then cut the meat from the bone. Fry ...

A New England Girlhood: Outlined From Memory

Lucy Larcom was an American poet, teacher, and mil-worker. According to Wikipedia: "Larcom served as a model for the change in women's roles in society." This is her colorful autobiography. Here, she tells about her happy childhood, and her time working in the mill. Along the way, she speaks about topics like morality, independence, love and loss inside a family, a strong belief in god, and the effects of being poor. Fans of Gene Stratton Porter, Fanny Fern and Susan Warner, and Ella Wheeler Wilcox will be delighted with this book. Lucy's sunny personality makes this book a very uplifting and ...

Our Old Home –by: Nathaniel Hawthorne

These essays, based on Hawthorne’s stay in England from 1853 to 1857 as American Consul in Liverpool, were first published in the form of a series of travel articles for The Atlantic Monthly.

In these writings, he displays his humor, his empathetic nature, his pride in his country, and sometimes his sharp judgment of others. He shares with us the difficulties of being a consul in the 1850’s, takes us on a tour with him through rural England and Scotland, shows us the splendors of London, and the horrors of the poverty that so many suffered. (Introduction by Margaret)

First Pag...

Full Revelations of a Professional Rat-catcher

Full Revelations of a Professional Rat-Catcher, after 25 Years' Experience
By Ike Matthews. INTRODUCTION. In placing before my readers in the following pages the results of my twenty-five years' experience of Rat-catching, Ferreting, etc., I may say that I have always done my best to accomplish every task that I have undertaken, and I have in consequence received excellent testimonials from many corporations, railway companies, and merchants. I have not only made it my study to discover the different and the best methods of catching Rats, but I have also taken great interest in watching th...

The Compleat Angler –by: Izaak Walton

The Compleat Angler is a celebration of the art and spirit of fishing in prose and verse. Walton did not profess to be an expert with the fly, but in the use of the live worm, the grasshopper and the frog "Piscator" could speak as a master. There were originally only two interlocutors in the opening scene, "Piscator" and "Viator"; but in the second edition, as if in answer to an objection that "Piscator" had it too much in his own way in praise of angling, he introduced the falconer, "Auceps," changed "Viator" into "Venator" and made the new companions each dilate on the joys of his favourite ...
Page 3 of 10712345...102030...Last »
Show Buttons
Hide Buttons
2004-2016 thebooksage.com. All Rights Reserved.